UK2 Hosting Review

Sat 1, Aug. 09
11 Reviews
0 Reviews
3.29overall score
Submit to redditSubmit to StumbleUpon

UK2 have been around since 1998 which seems an awful long time in the web hosting world !

Support is billed as ” 24 / 7 / 365 ” so I am especially interested to hear from UK2.net users how long the turnarounds are when they need some help. In 2009 they annunced that all support was to be brought in house so presumably this means better service levels in the future.

UK2 hosting include the 1 click install for wordpress on their control panel. On the home package you will be able to host upto 10 sites and get a free domain name thrown in.

Submit to redditSubmit to StumbleUpon

Visit UK2 Hosting

8 Reviews for UK2 Hosting

  • March 20th, 2009 - 3:10 pm Review by Tanya
    Reliability
    • 5 from 5
    Support
    • 5 from 5
    Features
    • 5 from 5
    Value for money
    • 5 from 5
    Overall
    • 5 from 5

    Hi, I don’t want to leave a review because I don’t use UK2 yet but just had an email from them with a discount code.

    New voucher code avaliable “57857852″ valid until 19th April 2009 and worth £5. This voucher can be used on all products.

  • October 14th, 2009 - 10:26 am Review by Matt
    Reliability
    • 1 from 5
    Support
    • 1 from 5
    Features
    • 1 from 5
    Value for money
    • 2 from 5
    Overall
    • 1 from 5

    UK2 are clearly the WORST hosting company I have come accross, and I deal with alot in my job.

    There is simply not enough information on the web stating just how bad UK2 are, I have a feeling that UK2 deliberately remove bad comments about them from the web.

    1. Their online control panel is awful, the control you have over your domain is extremely limited and unreliable. This I think is done deliberately to make it difficult to use other ISP’s services.

    2. Their transfer away process is unreliable, and they use antiquated registrars such as JOKERNET which makes tranfer process extremely difficult.

    3. Their internal DNS / database setup is poor meaning when domains are transfered away, their DNS system still thinks that they’re with UK2, meaning that other users using UK2′s services will have huge problems trying email the domain.

    4. Their support is very very difficult to get hold of. I called their premium support number on numerous occasions left totally unanswered, I finally got through after left ringing for over 6 minutes. Even then their was nothing they could do and asked me to ‘raise a ticket’

    *** I AM NOT MAKING THESE COMMENTS FLIPPANTLY, THIS IS ON THE BASIS OF DEALING WITH UK2 ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS ***

    *** MY ADVICE USE A DIFFERENT ISP !! ****

  • October 27th, 2009 - 12:41 pm Review by Joe
    Reliability
    • 5 from 5
    Support
    • 5 from 5
    Features
    • 5 from 5
    Value for money
    • 5 from 5
    Overall
    • 5 from 5

    Totally agree with the review of Mat above, these people have just lost me as a customer, I won’t even bother going into the full story of how bad they are at getting a response to a technical problem, and then getting some appropriate action from them – they are just terrible! And the cPannel they use . . . it is just plain bad . . .

    I opened another account with someone else today and I am moving all 12 of my domains away from UK2

  • October 27th, 2009 - 12:42 pm Review by Joe

    mmmmmm – re: above – dont leave the rating stars empty and post, as they fill up with full 5 starts when they actually deserved no stars …

  • March 29th, 2010 - 1:40 pm Review by Blake
    Reliability
    • 1 from 5
    Support
    • 1 from 5
    Features
    • 1 from 5
    Value for money
    • 1 from 5
    Overall
    • 1 from 5

    Really terrible hosting. Not many features included in package (not competitive at all), cpanel limited, hidden charges – have to pay for everything since you have to upgrade to do virtually anything. Slow to respond. Responses not helpful.

  • May 12th, 2010 - 4:43 pm Review by kevin fitzmaurice
    Reliability
    • 4 from 5
    Support
    • 1 from 5
    Features
    • 1 from 5
    Value for money
    • 1 from 5
    Overall
    • 1 from 5

    Registered domain name with this company. Biggest mistake I ever made. forgot about renewal as I moved to spain. £6.99 Per year.
    They sendt me a notice of renewal a few days prior. I realised and told them I had moved and was setting up new bank account.
    They disconnectedmy site. I rely on my site for survival.
    I contacted them. took a week before I got a reply. Then about ten conradictory replies and forms of payment and amounts.
    I tried to pay but they ecventually said their system was not working.
    Put my site bacn on line for a few days now insist I pay £50, oo to get it back.

    Failing to mention they want £12.95 to release it, but that also takes weeks,

    Blackmail, dirty tricks, intimidation and grossly inefficient.

    Do not touch these people. if you are with them move your site and your domain Really

    Read all the other complaints about them on the web

  • November 3rd, 2010 - 5:49 pm Review by Richard Tidmarsh
    Reliability
    • 1 from 5
    Support
    • 1 from 5
    Features
    • 1 from 5
    Value for money
    • 1 from 5
    Overall
    • 1 from 5

    I have a web design business and have been using UK2′s reseller service for several months, and I really cannot say one good thing about them. The server has a huge amount of downtime – approx 3-4 hours every week. I am never notified of this from UK2, and they view it as normal service. I’ve never received even a hint of an apology, let alone a plan of action for fixing it. But that is not the best of it…

    After this week’s downtime (approx 48 hours ago, for 2 hours), I found they have deleted a bunch of my databases, domains, and website files. They are doing nothing to rectify the situation, and have a couldn’t care less approach to my helpdesk requests. I have so far lost 3 clients as a result of this, and more are due to follow – in short, they are destroying my business, brand and good reputation. Basically – if you value your website data, DO NOT USE UK2.NET! They don’t know what they are doing, and couldn’t care less about their customers.

  • July 9th, 2011 - 11:31 pm Review by Kath
    Reliability
    • 2 from 5
    Support
    • 1 from 5
    Features
    • 1 from 5
    Value for money
    • 2 from 5
    Overall
    • 1 from 5

    I used this host for a few years, and must add my voice to the criticism.

    While their basic prices look good, very cheap, they do require you to pay extra to do anything of note with your domain or hosting. Furthermore, as noted by others, their control panel is very poor. It has a shoddy look and feel to it, as well as giving limited control and features to the end user.

    They try and discourage looking beyond their website for support, saying their slim margins require customers to forgo the personal touch. Unfortunately, the site has a bunch of very lame information that barely answers any query, and one is forced to use one’s own expertise to muddle through any issue encountered.

    When I wanted to transfer my domain away I was quite prepared to pay their exit fee, yet nobody wanted to deal with me. In the end I had to get Nominet to transfer it to my new host for me.

    This final act was massively indicative of the overall experience I had with this company. The whole enterprise looks thrown together by a few people who don’t really want to do anything, just keep customers servicing themselves using outdated online tools that haven’t changed since 1998.

Please submit a review if you have used this host. We "dofollow" your link

Reliability
Support
Features
Value for money
Overall